Numerous contests in Surry County

Published 7:28 pm Tuesday, October 29, 2019

By Frederic Lee

Staff writer

SURRY— Surry County voters go to the polls Tuesday to cast ballots for a slate of local candidates, as well as delegate and senate seats in the General Assembly. 

The School Board in Surry County has five elected members with three seats contested.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Faye Perkins and Lorraine Davis compete for the School Board’s Dendron District seat. Both would be newcomers as current Dendron representative Audrey Byrd has decided not to seek reelection after three terms. {mprestriction ids=”1,2,3,4,5,6″}

Incumbent Carsley District representative Marion Wilkins is running for her third term, challenged by Sue Anne Fibish. 

For the School Board’s Surry seat, Valencia “Missy” Williams is running against four-term incumbent Harold Jones. 

Claremont District representative and Board Chairperson Laura Ruffin is running unopposed for her third term, and Bacon’s Castle District representative Elsie Dennis is running unopposed for her fifth term. 

All but one Surry County Board of Supervisors seats are contested this November. 

Walter Hardy Jr. is running as a write-in candidate against five-term incumbent Judy Lyttle for the Bacon’s Castle District. 

Longtime Surry District representative John Seward is being challenged by Tim Calhoun Nov. 5. 

One-term incumbent Michael Drewry is running against newcomer Melvin A. Lyttle Jr. for the Dendron District seat. 

Two-term Carsley District representative Kenneth R. Holmes is contested for the seat by  Felicia Bailey.  

Robert Elliott Jr. is running for the Claremont District seat unopposed, as incumbent Giron Wooden is not seeking another term. 

One-term Surry County Sheriff Carlos Turner is being challenged by R.M. “Rocky” Barbee.

Surry voters will also choose a delegate to represent the 64th District. Del. Emily Brewer, R-64th, is challenged for her second term by Democrat and computer scientist, Michele Joyce. 

Democratic Sen. Louise Lucas, D-18th, is unopposed. Incumbent Republican Sen. Tommy Norment is challenged by businessman Herb Jones for the 3rd District senate seat.

Running unopposed locally is Derek Davis for Commonwealth’s Attorney, Jonathan Judkins for Commissioner of the Revenue and Onike “Nikki” Ruffin for Treasurer.

Earrett Parson, Jerry Rogers and E. Keith Seward are competing for two seats as directors of the Soil and Water Conservation District.  {/mprestriction}