IW incumbents retain seats

Published 2:41 am Wednesday, November 6, 2019

By Diana McFarland


Isle of Wight Board of Supervisors incumbents William McCarty and Dick Grice retained their seats for another four years in the Newport and Smithfield districts, respectively. 

Overall, voter turnout in Isle of Wight was 43 percent, according to unofficial results.  

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

McCarty easily surpassed former Planning Commissioner Rick Gillerlain with 69 percent of the vote in the Newport District, according to unofficial results. 

{mprestriction ids=”1,2,3,4,5,6″}

“I appreciate the confidence of the citizens and will do what I promised I would do, listen to them, represent them and just move together forward with them,” said McCarty. 

Grice sailed past Smithfield businessman Timmie Edwards, earning 1,501 votes to his opponent’s 1,127, a nearly 57 percent margin. 

“I’m looking forward to serving the community for another four years. We have some interesting challenges ahead of us and will handle them in our constituents best interest,” said Grice.

Although Windsor District Supervisor Joel Acree was unopposed, he spent the day at the polls talking to voters. 

“It’s truly an honor to serve,” he said. 

Newport District School Board representative Vicky Hulick will also return to her post in January after edging out challenger Lawrence Rotruck by 692 votes — a 62 percent margin, according to unofficial polling results. 

“I am humbled and honored by the support I’ve received from my constituents, ad I am excited to serve them the next four years like I’ve served them the past four years. I want to thank them for their encouragement, support and votes,” said Hulick, adding her campaign focused on what the Board had accomplished during her four years and what she plans to do during her next term. 

Smithfield Town Council member Denise Tynes will add another elected position to her portfolio, as she squeaked past Matthew Thomas with 50.5 percent of the vote to represent the Smithfield District on the Isle of Wight County School Board. 

Efforts to reach Tynes by press time was unsuccessful.

Windsor District School Board representative Julia Perkins was unopposed. 

There were several unopposed races the county. 

Isle of Wight County Sheriff James Clarke will begin his first full term in office in January, after winning a special election last July.

Isle of Wight Commonwealth’s Attorney Georgette Phillips returns to her post, as does Isle of Wight Commissioner of Revenue Gerald Gwaltney and Isle of Wight Treasurer Judith Wells. 

William Gwaltney Jr. and J. Larry Darden were elected as directors to the Peanut Soil and Water Conservation District.  {/mprestriction}