And the winners are …

Published 1:38 pm Wednesday, November 4, 2015

McCarty, Acree and Grice on Isle of Wight Board of Supervisors

Turner, Davis, Clayton and Drewry win in Surry

By Diana McFarland

News editor

Isle of Wight County voters put three new faces on the Board of Supervisors, but kept incumbent Sheriff Mark Marshall and Commonwealth’s Attorney Georgette Phillips in office.

Considered the swing vote on the Board of Supervisors, Joel Acree easily defeated embattled incumbent Dee Dee Darden for the Windsor District seat. Acree earned 71 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results filed with the Virginia State Board of Elections.

“It’s the way the people in our community feel. “I’m looking forward to bringing our county back to what we know it can be and make it a place we can be proud of,” said Acree.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Acree will be joined by William McCarty representing the Newport District. McCarty beat Albert Burckard with 71 percent of the vote. {mprestriction ids=”1,2,3,4,5,6″}

The race between Smithfield District candidates Dick Grice and Lawrence Pitt was close, but Grice pulled ahead with 52 percent of the vote to join McCarty and Acree on the Board.

Despite a contentious campaign, Marshall swept past challenger J. Russell Stephenson with 74 percent of the vote.

“We’re obviously delighted the people have spoken. It affirms, it validates the hard work we have done over the past four years and the people want us to continue that progress,” Marshall said.

Phillips defeated challenger Jennifer Stanton with nearly 61 percent of the vote.

“I am so honored that the voters have believed in me and believed I have done a good job the past 14 years and continue to do the job I love to do for them. I ‘m honored to have the privilege to continue to serve.”

In the school board race, Alvin Wilson won the Hardy District with 59 percent of the vote over JoAnn Hall, followed by Vicky Hulick in the Newport District with a 62 percent margin over Kimberly Winget. Kirstin Cook defeated incumbent Denise Tynes with 71 percent of the votes in the Smithfield District.

Windsor District School Board member Julia Perkins was unchallenged, as was Commissioner of the Revenue Gerald Gwaltney, Treasurer Judith Wells and Circuit Court Clerk Sharon Jones.

William Gwaltney Jr. was elected as Director to the Soil and Water Conservation District with 51 percent of the vote.

In the single contested senate race, Sen. Tommy Norment Jr., R-3, defeated challenger Hugo Reyes by a margin of nearly 67 percent.

Sen. John Cosgrove Jr. R-14, Sen. Louise Lucas, D-18, Del. Rick Morris, R-64 and Del. Roslyn Tyler, D-75, were uncontested. 


Surry results

By Diana McFarland

News editor

Carlos Turner beat out three opponents to win the job of Surry County Sheriff. He beat out Michael Bailey, Christopher Bailey and Jonathan Beale with 50 percent of the vote.

Derick Davis easily defeated Henry Thompson for Commonwealth’s Attorney with a 72 percent margin.

Incumbent Gail Clayton won another term as Surry Circuit Court clerk, outpacing two opponents with 55 percent of the vote.

On the Surry Board of Supervisors, Michael Drewry upset incumbent Earnest Blount to serve as the Dendron District Supervisor. Drewry earned 52 percent of the vote over Blount’s 45 percent and 17 write-ins.

Maintaining their seats in uncontested races was Surry Supervisor John Seward, Claremont Supervisor Giron Wooden Sr., Carsley Supervisor Kenneth Holmes and Bacon’s Castle Supervisor Judy Lyttle.

School Board members Harold Jones, Audrey Byrd, Laura Ruffin, Marion Wilkins and Elsie Dennis all won another term. Faye Warren and Deborah Nee retained their seats as treasurer and commissioner of the revenue, respectively.

The town of Claremont held a special election for Town Council. Earning a spot on the council was Quinton Jones, Terry Marr, Robert Shaw III and Phillip Yerby IV.

In the senate race, incumbent Sen. Tommy Norment, R-3, earned one vote in the Bacon’s Castle District, while opponent and Democrat Hugo Reyes received none. Uncontested Sen. Louise Lucas, D-18, Del. Rick Morris, R-64, and Del. Roslyn Tyler, D-75, all retained their seats.{/mprestriction}