Upsets in some Surry races

Published 10:29 am Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Surry County’s results came in late Tuesday night. 

Board of Supervisors

Tim Calhoun upset longtime incumbent John Seward to take the Surry District seat on the Board of Supervisors. 

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Calhoun earned nearly 60 percent of the vote, compared to Seward’s 41.6 percent. 

Incumbent Judy Lyttle will return to represent the Bacon’s Castle District on the Surry Board of Supervisors, as she defeated write-in candidate Walter Hardy with nearly 58 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results. 

Also returning to the Board for a second term is Dendron District Supervisor Michael Drewry, who easily surpassed Melvin Lyttle Jr. by 71 percent; and Kenneth Holmes, who gathered 53 percent of the vote over challenger Felicia Bailey for the Carsley District seat.

Robert Elliott was elected to represent the Claremont District, and had run unopposed. 

Surry County Sheriff

Incumbent Carlos Turner defeated challenger R.M. “Rocky” Barbee with 67.5 percent of the vote for a second term. 

Surry County School Board

Surry District incumbent Harold Jones won’t be returning to the School Board in January as he was defeated with a 73 percent win by Valencia Jones “Missy” Williams.

Sue Anne Fibish was unable to overturn incumbent Marion Wilkins for the Carsley District seat, as Wilkins earned 65 percent of the vote. 

Incumbents Elsie Dennis (Bacon’s Castle) and Laura Ruffin (Claremont) were unopposed. 

Faye Perkins and Lorraine Davis competed for a seat vacated by xxx. Perkins narrowly edged out Davis with about 51 percent of the vote for the Dendron District seat. 

Other races

Derek Davis returns for second term as Surry Commonwealth’s Attorney, as his seat was unopposed. 

The same goes for Jonathan Judkins for Commissioner of Revenue, and Onike “Nikki” Ruffin for Treasurer.