Republicans announce convention ballot order

Published 5:40 pm Tuesday, April 20, 2021

The Republican Party of Virginia on Thursday announced the order of candidates that will appear on the ballot during the party’s May 8 state convention.

Republicans who wish to participate in the convention should contact their local unit as soon as possible, said John March, communications consultant with the Republican Party of Virginia.

“Do it sooner rather than later, because deadlines are coming up very quickly,” March said. “Don’t hesitate.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The deadline for Isle of Wight County was on April 7.

People in other areas should visit to contact the chairman or chairwoman for their coverage area, March said.

The candidates in ballot order are:


Glenn A. Youngkin

Amanda Freeman Chase

M. Kirkland “Kirk” Cox

Peter Doran

Sergio de la Pena

Peter A. “Pete” Snyder

Octavia L. Johnson

Lieutenant Governor

Lance R. Allen

Timothy D. “Tim” Hugo

Maeve T. Rigler

Glenn R. Davis Jr.

Puneet Ahluwalia

Winsome E. Sears

Attorney General

C.L. “Chuck” Smith Jr.

Jason S. Miyares

Jack White

Leslie Haley

Democrats will select their candidates for the three statewide offices in a traditional primary on June 8. The deadline to register to vote in that primary is May 17.

The Democrats’ candidates are:


Jennifer D. Carroll Foy

Jennifer L. McClellan

Justin E. Fairfax

Lee J. Carter

Terry R. McAuliffe

Lieutenant Governor

Andria P. McClellan

Elizabeth R. Guzman

Hala S. Ayala

Mark H. Levine

S. “Sam” Rasoul

Sean A. Perryman

Xavier JaMar Warren

Attorney General

Jerrauld C. “Jay” Jones

Mark R. Herring