Who made the ballot for June 20 primaries?

Published 5:38 pm Monday, May 1, 2023

For Surry County Democrats, the choice of candidate for the new 82nd House of Delegates District has narrowed from three to two.

Victor “Vic” McKenzie Jr. of Petersburg and Kimberly Pope Adams of Dinwiddie County each qualified by the April 24 deadline to get their names on the June 20 primary election ballot.

A third Democratic candidate, Branden Riley of Petersburg, had planned to run as of March but has since dropped out of the race.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Primary races require each candidate file a nominating petition bearing the signatures of at least 125 registered district voters for House races and at least 250 signatures for state Senate races.

There will be no Republican primary for the 82nd seat since Del. Kim Taylor, R-Petersburg, has no GOP opponent.

Isle of Wight County Democrats who reside in the new 84th House District – which spans the county-city border with Suffolk, including Windsor and Carrsville – get to choose between Michele Joyce of Smithfield and former Del. Nadarius Clark. Both qualified for the ballot following Clark’s recent relocation from Portsmouth to North Suffolk.

Isle of Wight Republicans living in the 84th will choose between Navy veterans Mike Dillender and Rod Thompson, both of Suffolk.

There’s no primary for either party in the 83rd District, which includes most of Smithfield and Carrollton, and the western areas of Isle of Wight. Incumbent Del. Otto Wachsmann, R-Sussex, and former Emporia Mayor Mary Person, the Democratic candidate, are each unopposed within their parties.

For the newly created 13th Senate District, Surry Democrats will choose between Sen. Joseph Morrissey and former Del. Lashrecse Aird. A third Democratic candidate, Angela Rowe, withdrew from the race.

There’s no Republican primary for the 13th since Eric Ditri of Prince George County has no GOP opponent.

In Isle of Wight, which is now in the 17th Senate District, Republican voters will choose between Del. Emily Brewer, R-Isle of Wight, and businessman Hermie Sadler of Emporia. Del. Clinton Jenkins, D-Suffolk, is unopposed as the Democratic nominee for the seat.

The polls will be open in each district holding a primary from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on June 20. Virginia holds open primaries, meaning any registered voter in that district, regardless of party affiliation, can cast a ballot.

Early voting begins May 5. Voters can cast ballots in person at their local registrar’s office or request an absentee ballot by mail by going to https://www.elections.virginia.gov/casting-a-ballot/early-absentee/