Smithfield Times wins 29 awards for 2022 journalistic, advertising excellence

Published 1:50 pm Wednesday, May 10, 2023

The Smithfield Times earned 29 awards in the Virginia Press Association’s 2022 news and advertising contest.

The May 6 awards banquet, held at the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa in Short Pump, marked the return of the annual statewide gathering of journalists and advertising professionals since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Times competes in the VPA’s Non-Daily 2 category against other newspapers throughout the state with total paid print circulation between 1,600 and 3,999.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The awards were judged by journalists and advertising professionals from Tennessee.

Creative Director Jen Jaqua received the Best in Show award for non-daily graphics, illustration and art. The award was for a graphic accompanying a series of news stories on Isle of Wight County “cold cases.” 

The Times also finished third in the VPA’s Grand Sweepstakes, which is based on the total number of first-, second- and third-place awards, with first-place honors counting for three points, second for two and third for one.

Reporter Stephen Faleski won 11 awards, including three first-place honors.

Publisher Steve Stewart won four awards, including first and second place in column writing for his “Dispatches from Wharf Hill.”

Jaqua won eight awards, including three first-place honors.

Advertising account executive Dana Snow won two first-place honors and eight total awards.

Lindsay Richardson, director of advertising, won second-place in advertising for slick publications and third-place for special sections.

Former Regional Editor Tracy Agnew also received a third-place award for special sections. Advertising account executive Mitzi Lusk won third place in slick publications .

Below is a list of the winning entries, which were published between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022.

First place:

  • Breaking news photo – Stephen Faleski
  • Breaking news writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Column writing – Steve Stewart
  • Health, science or environmental writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Page design – Jen Jaqua
  • Illustrations – Jen Jaqua
  • Specialty pages or sections – Jen Jaqua
  • Advertising (food and drug) – Dana Snow
  • Advertising (professional services, excluding medical/healthcare) – Dana Snow

Second place:

  • Professional services advertising (medical and healthcare) – Dana Snow
  • Special sections (standalone section non-slick cover) – Dana Snow
  • Page design – Jen Jaqua
  • General news photo – Steve Stewart
  • Business and financial writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Column writing – Steve Stewart
  • Headline writing – Steve Stewart, Jen Jaqua

Third place:

  • Advertising (education, churches, organizations) – Dana Snow
  • Advertising (entertainment) – Dana Snow
  • Advertising (professional services, excluding medical/healthcare) – Dana Snow
  • Slick publications (standalone section (standalone section with a slick cover) – Dana Snow, Lindsay Richardson, Mitzi Lusk
  • Slideshow or gallery – Stephen Faleski
  • Front page – Jen Jaqua
  • Special sections or special editions – Jen Jaqua, Stephen Faleski, Tracy Agnew
  • Personality or portrait photo – Jen Jaqua
  • Sports news photo – Stephen Faleski
  • Business and financial writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Education writing – Stephen Faleski
  • General news writing – Stephen Faleski
  • In-depth or investigative reporting – Stephen Faleski