Candidate roundup: Who qualified for the ballot by June 20?

Published 4:15 pm Thursday, June 22, 2023

The following candidates filed qualifying papers to run for office in Isle of Wight and Surry counties in the Nov.7 general election. The deadline to qualify was June 20.

Isle of Wight County


Commonwealth’s Attorney

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Georgette Phillips*

Clerk of Court

Laura E. Smith

Elisabeth Culpepper


James R. Clarke*

Commissioner of the Revenue

Gerald Gwaltney*


Dahlis M. Atkins

Julie Slye

Board of Supervisors (District 1)

Renee Rountree

Board of Supervisors (District 2)

William McCarty Sr.*

Tracy Mae Hendrix

Board of Supervisors (District 4)

Joel Acree*

School Board (District 1)

Brandi Perkins

Denise Tynes*

School Board (District 2)

Mark Wooster*

Timothy Mallory

School Board (District 4)

Jason P. Maresh*

Laequinla Hunter

Soil & Water Conservation Director

William A. Gwaltney Jr.*

Larry Darden*

Town Council – Windsor

Marlin Sharp*


Surry County


Onike N. Ruffin*

Board of Supervisors (Surry District)

Bob I. Addison

W.T. “Tim” Calhoun*

Board of Supervisors (Carsley District)

Breyon D. Pierce*

Board of Supervisors (Claremont District)

Robert L. Elliott*

Susan Corvello

Board of Supervisors (Bacon’s Castle District)

Walter N. Hardy

Robert F. Chandler

Board of Supervisors (Dendron)

Brenton J. Byrd*

Amy L. Drewry

Commonwealth’s Attorney

Derek A. Davis*

Clerk of Circuit Court

Shelia L. Hunt

Janeen L. Jackson

Thomas L.S. Mayes

Earl Newby Jr.

Commissioner of the Revenue

Jonathan F. Judkins*


Carlos L. Turner*

R.M. “Rocky” Barbee

Soil and Water Conservation Director (Peanut District)

Daniel T. Judkins

Earrett W. Parson*

School Board (Surry District)

Valencia J. Williams*

School Board (Bacon’s Castle District)

Sophenia H. Pierce

School Board (Dendron District)

Faye Perkins*

School Board (Carsley District)

Sue Fibish

Roxanne L. Marr-Shears

School Board (Claremont District)

Laura P. Ruffin*