Mayes wins four-way Surry clerk of court race

Published 11:56 pm Tuesday, November 7, 2023

Thomas L.S. Mayes won the four-way contested race to become Surry County’s next clerk of circuit court.

According to unofficial election results, Mayes received just under 39% of more than 3,000 votes. Earl Newby received the second highest percentage, at just over 30%, followed by Shelia Hunt with just over 22% and Janeen Jackson with just over 8%.

Clerks of circuit court are elected to eight-year terms. Retiring Clerk Gail Clayton, whose term in office will end Dec. 31, has served in the role for 24 years, giving her the longest tenure of any currently sitting constitutional officer.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The total includes election day voting, early in-person votes and absentee ballots but not provisional ballots.

I wish to thank my fellow neighbors and friends for entrusting me with Surry’s historical records and daily documents, as your new Clerk of the Circuit Court-elect,” Mayes said. I look forward to serving all of our citizens, and our visitors, with friendly customer service and guidance in servicing their needs. My office door will always be open to address any request for assistance, or recommendations for improvements, as I will serve at the pleasure of the people! Words cannot express the honor that I feel, having been given this opportunity. I will strive daily to be worthy of your trust. To God be the Glory.”

Thomas Mayes and all Elected Officials, I warmly congratulate you in your victory,” Jackson said in a Nov. 10 statement. “Wishing you even more success in the future!”

Newby and Hunt did not immediately respond to The Smithfield Times’ request for comments.

Editor’s note: This story was updated on Nov. 9 with comments from Thomas Mayes and on Nov. 10 with comments by Janeen Jackson.