WHS yearbook honored by Jostens, VHSL

Published 8:44 am Wednesday, November 22, 2023

The yearbook staff at Windsor High School is celebrating top honors earned at both the national and state levels.

The WHS yearbook earned the Jostens 2023 National Yearbook Program of Excellence award at the Gold Level. 

The National Yearbook Program of Excellence recognizes engaging yearbooks that reflect a broad representation of the student body while helping students develop 21st century skills such as communication, collaboration, and information and communication technologies literacy.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Jostens is the leading producer of yearbooks and student-created content.

The high school’s yearbook, “The Duke,” has also been featured several times in Josten’s national LookBook, a publication that reviews more tha 3,000 yearbooks across the nation and highlights the top schools’ designs, covers and photography.

The WHS yearbook also placed in the Virginia High School League Trophy Class for yearbooks across the state. This is the equivalent of a state championship. 

“The Dukes did such a fantastic job on this year’s book. It was a joy to read and flip through and I feel like I’m an honorary member of the school, which is exactly what a yearbook should do,” evaluators noted. “Thank you for inviting me in through the high-quality photographs and theme. Everyone who contributed to the Duke should feel quite proud of themselves.”

Current Dukes who were part of the yearbook staff last year are Jasmine Lassiter, Jordan Baldwin, Shelby Burton, Aiden Cobb, Daniela Grabowiecki-Cardenas, Robert Gurin, Emma Moore, Natalee Moore, Reese Mumford, Jaiona Rich, Joseph Gray, Savannah McMillan, Jadelyn Miller, Destiny Robinson and Fallon Sullivan.  

2023 graduates on last year’s staff include Sara Brooks, T.J. Evans, Chloe Griffin, Joydin Holloway, Alanah Jones and Trinity Williams.

Cassandra Presson is the Windsor High School yearbook adviser, having served in the position since 2008.