Smithfield Times wins 28 awards for 2023 journalistic, advertising excellence

Published 5:11 pm Monday, May 6, 2024

CHARLOTTESVILLE —The Smithfield Times earned 28 awards in the Virginia Press Association’s 2023 news and advertising contest.

The May 4 awards banquet, an annual statewide gathering of journalists and advertising professionals, was held at The Omni Charlottesville Hotel in Charlottesville.

The Times competes in the VPA’s Non-Daily 2 category against other newspapers throughout the state with paid print circulation between 1,600 and 3,999.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The awards were judged by journalists and advertising professionals from Missouri.

Reporter Stephen Faleski won 15 awards, including five first-place honors.

Publisher Steve Stewart won four awards, sweeping first, second and third place in editorial writing and taking first place for pictorial photo.

Creative Director Jen Jaqua won five awards, including first place in general makeup, a layout and design honor.

Advertising Director Lindsay Richardson won two awards, including a first-place honor in member self-promotion.

Advertising Account Executive Taylor McMickle won a first-place award in the home and garden category.

Publisher Emeritus John Edwards won second place in column writing for his weekly “In The Short Rows” column.

Below is a list of the winning entries, which were published between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023.

First place:

  • Feature photo – Stephen Faleski
  • Video – Stephen Faleski
  • General make-up – Jen Jaqua
  • Education writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Feature profile writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Home and garden – Taylor McMickle
  • Member self-promotion – Lindsay Richardson
  • Editorial writing – Steve Stewart
  • Public notice story – Stephen Faleski
  • Pictorial photo – Steve Stewart

Second place:

  • Business and financial writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Column writing – John Edwards
  • Breaking news photo – Stephen Faleski
  • Breaking news writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Public safety writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Government writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Combination picture and story – Jen Jaqua, Stephen Faleski
  • Editorial writing – Steve Stewart
  • Page design – Jen Jaqua

Third place:

  • Personality or portrait photo – Stephen Faleski
  • Education writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Feature writing portfolio – Stephen Faleski
  • Feature story writing (excluding obituaries) – Stephen Faleski
  • Public safety writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Informational graphics – Jen Jaqua
  • Member self-promotion – Lindsay Richardson
  • Editorial writing – Steve Stewart
  • Pictorial photo – Jen Jaqua